Access Bank PLC

Seriake Dickson Wins Re-Election As Bayelsa governor

First Bank Nigeria

The incumbent governor and the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Seriake Dickson, has emerged winner after scoring the most votes in the Bayelsa State governorship election.

According to the results announced by the Returning Officer for the Bayelsa governorship election, Zana Akpaogu, Mr. Dickson polled 134,998 to defeat Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress who scored 86,852 votes.

Mr. Akpaogu, a professor and Vice Chancellor of the University of Calabar, declared Mr. Dickson winner of the poll on Sunday evening at Yenagoa Local Government, which served as state collation centre for the Bayelsa governorship election.

Moses Siasia of the Peoples Democratic Movement came a distant third with 1, 572 votes.

The substantive election in the state was held on December 5, 2015 but INEC declared the election inconclusive after it cancelled the poll in Southern Ijaw Local Government Area following reports of widespread electoral malpractices and violence.

INEC subsequently fixed January 9, 2016 for supplementary elections in the affected local government and 101 other polling units in 7 local government areas where elections did not hold on December 5.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button