Access Bank PLC

Real Madrid Drop Down to Pot Two in Champions League Seedings Since 2010-11 Season

First Bank Nigeria

Barcelona’s La Liga title victory means Carlo Ancelotti’s side will fall out of pot one for the first time in five years

Real Madrid will be in pot two of the Champions League group stage draw for the first time since 2010-11 thanks to their failure to win the competition or La Liga this term.

Carlo Ancelotti’s side failed to defend their Eueropean crown, with Juventus eliminating them 3-2 on aggregate at the semi-final stage in midweek.

Barcelona, meanwhile, were confirmed as Primera Division winners on Sunday and, under Uefa’s new system, Madrid will not be among the top seeds.

In previous years, the pots were decided by each team’s coefficient ranking but the governing body has ruled that winners of the top seven leagues and the European champions will now fill pot one.

As Juventus and Barcelona, the two Champions League finalists, have already won their domestic titles, one spot will be granted to the Eredivisie – the eighth-ranked league in 2013-14.

The drop means Madrid could end up facing the likes of Bayern Munich, Chelsea, Juventus or Paris Saint-Germain in the group stages next season.

Other pot one regulars who will have to make do with a place in pot two include Atletico Madrid, Manchester United, Porto and Arsenal.

The final for the 2015-16 Champions League takes place at San Siro in Milan on May 28.

Pot one (confirmed): Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Chelsea, Juventus, Paris Saint-Germain, Benfica, Zenit, PSV.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button