Access Bank PLC

Airtel Bags Three Awards At NTITA 2017

First Bank Nigeria

Leading telecommunications services provider, Airtel Nigeria, on Saturday clinched three accolades at the Nigeria Technology Innovation & Telecom Awards (NTITA) 2017 organised by the Association of Telecommunications Companies of Nigeria (ATCON) in Lagos.  

The event which was well attended by telecom industry captains, saw Airtel’s Touching Lives project adjudged as the CSR Initiative of the Year. The telco also bagged the Telecom Marketing Campaign of the Year Award while the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the company, Mr. Segun Ogunsanya won the Telecom CEO of the Year Award.

Mr. Olusola Teniola, President of ATCON, in his citation during the presentation of the Telecom CEO of the Year Award to Mr. Ogunsanya, said the company has continued to grow bigger and better under the Airtel boss leadership. He stated that the award is a recognition of his outstanding performance.

Professor Umar Garba Danbatta, Executive Vice Chairman, Nigeria Communication Commission (NCC) in his remark at the event, commended ATCON for its mutual relationship fostered between the Association and NCC since his became the EVC of the regulatory body.

“As we build up our relationship with telecom bodies, NCC will continue to do its best in order to ensure that consumers are protected and empowered. Let me assure that the board of the NCC is full committed to ensuring that we attain the broadband innovation of 40 per cent and be consistent with the Nigerian broadband plan”, he said.

According to the President of ATCON, Mr. Teniola, NTITA is to recognise telecom and ICT companies that have led innovation and creativity. “ATCON thought the only way to further encourage innovation and creativity in the industry is to reward those who are not resting on their forte and to encourage them to do more. Secondly, we believe that as some companies and individuals receive awards today, it is our utmost believe that it will encourage innovation and creativity in others. This will also lead to further investment into the sector.”

Other award recipients include: Prof. Umar Danbatta – Telecom Man of the Year; former EVC of NCC, Dr. Ernest Ndukwu – Life Time Achievement Award; Nigeria Internet Registration Association (NiRA) – Special Recognition Award for Promoting .NG among others.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button