Access Bank PLC

Lagos APC Secretly Adopts Speaker Ikuforiji As 2015 Governorship Candidate

First Bank Nigeria


As the nation gets set for the 2015 general elections, several clandestine political manouverings are going on in different locations and many gladiators are scheming for the various public offices.

One of these manouverings is the alleged adoption of the Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Adeyemi Ikuforiji as the Governorship candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) for the 2015 elections.

Our dependable source revealed that the party leaders, led by Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, secretly agreed that Ikuforiji should take over from the incumbent Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola of the state who would be finishing his second term of office permitted by the constitution.

Though the issue has not been made public, those who were privy to the information said that the party leaders believe that the Speaker’s court case with the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) is not enough to stop him from contesting for the coveted office in 2015.

They were said to have agreed that the Speaker has paid his dues and has been loyal to the authorities over the years.

‘They all agreed that he is the best man for the job. They believe that Ikuforiji did well as Speaker of the House since 2005 and that he can continue from where Governor Fashola would stop in 2015,’ said a source.

It was gathered that arrangements are being concluded to introduce the Epe, Lagos-born politician to the whole party as the chosen one amongst the lot. The meeting was said to have been held penultimate week at the Bourdillion, Ikoyi, Lagos residence of Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

However, another chieftain of the APC, who spoke with us anonymously, denied the report.

He stated that the party leaders are yet to choose from the barrage of aspirants that are interested in the office, and added that this would be done in due course.

Some of the notable aspirants for the office are Dr. Muiz Banire, Senator Ganiyu Olanrewaju Solomon, Senator Gbenga Ashafa, Lagos Works Commissioner, Femi Hamzat, Finance Commissioner, Ayo Gbeleyi amongst others.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button