Access Bank PLC

Bishop Oyedepo’s Landmark University, Ten Others Are Substandard – NUC

First Bank Nigeria
Bishops David Oyedepo’s second private owned Institution, Landmark university situated at Omu-Aran Kwara state in North Central  part of Nigeria  which recently occupied 4th position among best ten universities in Nigeria as sampled by Webometric was last Thursday 13th August 2015 alongside ten other private universities denied full operational licenses by National University Commission (NUC) as result of what the Executive Secretary, Mr. Julius Okojie describe as their inability to meet set standards three years after they were issued provisional licenses.
The ten other affected private universities are Wesley University of Science And Technology, Rhema University, Samuel Adegboyega University, Paul University, Oduduwa University, Tansian University, Baze University, Obong University, Achievers University and Wellspring University.
The NUC Executive Secretary while speaking during the presentation of full operational licenses to nine other  private universities stated that Landmark University and the ten other affected private universities were initially given two years to get their full operational licenses but failed to get it in three years.
Although the NUC Executive Secretary did not mention any punitive measure against the affected Universities, but he explained that provisional license was intended to create room for effective mentoring and qualitative growth within the first three years of operation of a new private university.
According to NUC Executive Secretary, it is the responsibility of the commission to monitor the activities of universities in the country to ensure that they comply with the original purpose of establishment. NUC also initiates early warning signals to detect compromises in quality for the application of corrective and remedial measures to redress such situation. The commission also penalizes universities through the accreditation processes.
Mr. Julius Okojie emphasized that it is pertinent that NUC monitors universities at the initial stage in order to avert future challenges that might cause slow down on their programs and staff strength.
The nine universities that received full operational licenses are Veritas University, Caleb Universities, Geofery Okoye  University, Fountain University, Adeleke University, Western Delta University, Salem University, Nigerian Turkish Nile University and Afe Babalola University.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button